And then there were two…

I have realised that fibre equipment is like buses; you wait and wait and then two come at once.
I am referring to fringe twisters. ‘What are they?’ I hear you cry! Well the clue is in the name really (if you hadn’t guessed). It is a clever piece of kit for making beautiful even fringes for your handwoven scarves. I have resisted ‘acquiring’ (ahem) one for a while, made easier due to the fact that I haven’t been making many scarves…until recently.
Fortunately for me, my spinning group decided to buy one earlier this year, just in time for when I started making baby wraps so I hadn’t need of it until the last couple of weeks. As I mentioned in the last post, I have been drawn to making a few less practical items recently; partly because I’ve been wanting to weave with something other than cotton, partly as I have been wanting to weave something a little smaller but also just because I actually want to weave something for me.
So after the twill scarf and another wrap (ooh better show you a photo)

20140516-164039.jpg
I embarked upon a silk wrap. It’s made with yellow and raspberry silk in another 8 shaft twill so is shimmery, soft and feels amazing.

20140516-164216.jpg
It also has a fringe. Now up until now, I have been either leaving the fringes on things as they are, or twisting them by hand which isn’t too bad when they have been wool and only around 70 ends but this beauty has 480 ends at each end of the scarf, making 960 in total! These are sectioned into groups of 4, twisted together and then twisted the other way again, in pairs. All clear so far? So a fringe twister makes the whole process a little less painful.

20140516-164609.jpg
We had the spinning group last night so I borrowed the fringe twister (an Ashford one) and was happily twisting away when our postie appeared with a parcel from America. Another twister! Not randomly though, I ordered one from Etsy last week, at about half the cost of an Ashford one, even with shipping. So I have two, for now.

4 thoughts on “And then there were two…

  1. mosaicthinking

    Ashford stuff is so expensive isn’t it? But you can only wish them well and hope they keep doing what they do, as we need all the suppliers we can get. We’re not spoiled for choice.

    At a market in Cambodia I saw a fabric stall holder sitting on a stool twisting fringes by rolling them on her thigh. Low tech but it seemed to work.

    Reply
    1. knittingkitten04 Post author

      Yes,it would be lovely to have a more local supplier. I get a touch of envy when I see what’s available in the US. I bet the Cambodian fringe twister was very adept too, what an amazing journey for you too make.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

